Letters To Editor

Top Story

LETTER: NRA cartoon not humorous

On Wednesday, August 29, 2015, the Editorial page showed a cartoon, depicting the "Grim Reaper" wearing a badge, which stated that he was "A Proud Supporter of the NRA." If this was an attempt at humor, it failed badly.

  • icon Posted: August 02

Recent Headlines

Sunday 08/02/2015
LETTER: Statesville is not fourth worst
Posted: August 02, 2015

Statesville, the fourth worst city. I do not think so.

Saturday 08/01/2015
LETTER: Contemporary Christian music not biblical
Posted: August 01, 2015

God is an Awesome God! He is Awesome because He is Holy. Holiness is a description of things that are good, righteous, and separate from the world. This week’s Awesome God Festival shows that many people are deceived into thinking that unholy music is acceptable for worshiping a Holy God. The emphasis they place on music and the obsession they show defending it, demonstrate that music itself has become a god.

Wednesday 07/29/2015
LETTER: Sidewalk desperately needed
Posted: July 29, 2015

I live on E. Broad Street at Bi-Lo grocery store. I think, and I’m sure lots of other people would agree, Statesville needs to put in a sidewalk from Bi-Lo to at least Greenbriar at the light.

LETTER: Clean energy industry growing
Updated: July 29, 2015 - 2:07 pm

It is an exciting time for North Carolina with our groundbreaking clean energy industry making its mark. From 2012 to 2014, clean energy employment increased at an annual rate of 25 percent, outpacing the growth of any other industry in North Carolina. The industry provides nearly 23,000 full-time jobs and over $4.8 billion in annual gross revenues. These statistics are a promising indicator of the unique possibilities clean energy has for the state of North Carolina.

Sunday 07/26/2015
LETTER: Flying Confederate flag to honor heritage
Posted: July 26, 2015

This is to inform you Yankee Carpetbaggers and anti history/heritage buffs about a historical fact. My great, great, grandfather, his brothers, and many other relatives are to be remembered in reference to their service for defending their homeland.

LETTER: Taxpayers should help coal ash cleanup
Posted: July 26, 2015

In the past months many people have spoken about the coal ash problem. I believe it is an environmental issue which must be addressed, but I would like to say to all the bleeding heart liberals that during the decades of the '50s thru '90s we wanted more and more power and we wanted it cheap. The power industry is regulated by the state and must ask for an increase in price. Every time Duke asks, there was always opposition. We do need to clean it up, but I am afraid that the tax payer should help with the expense.

LETTER: Freedom is equality between people
Posted: July 26, 2015

Whether we are creationists by which all people come from one man, or we are evolutionists, in which all people come from a single cell organism, we are one: the human race.

Thursday 07/23/2015
LETTER: Lake view not the problem on I-77
Updated: July 23, 2015 - 11:46 am

If you have driven on I-77 to Charlotte in the last twenty years, you know when to avoid the daily traffic jams. If you have work in Charlotte and live in IredellCounty, you know when to leave for work in the mornings. You also know when to leave Charlotte to avoid the daily traffic jams, which is becoming more and more difficult to do, both heading to and escaping from, Charlotte.

Wednesday 07/15/2015
LETTER: Flag represents devotion to duty, patriotism
Posted: July 15, 2015

I applaud the letter “History of Confederate flag important.” Mrs. Hinson clearly states her case in historical context.

LETTER: Lake view slows traffic
Posted: July 15, 2015

I can remember traveling on I-77 toward Charlotte and back my whole life. I understand since the population boom of the '90s, traffic has gotten worse. More folks, more traffic I get it, but there used to be a fence that was grown over blocking the view of the lake. There was no traffic. They tore it down to clean it up, making a great view. Since then it has destroyed any semblance of a flowing interstate. They have stopped boats from anchoring there. It hasn't helped.

LETTER: American flag should be displayed properly
Posted: July 15, 2015

With all of the controversy over flags lately I was advised by my neighbor that the South Baptist Church on Chipley Ford Road was flying their church flag above the American Flag. So that evening I took a ride up the road after sunset and found this to be true and the flag isn't lit from below. What surprise's me that out of all the people that have been going to church there not one corrected this display!! I'm sure that many have served as I did should know better than to let this pass! Please pray for forgiveness and correct ASAP!

Tuesday 07/14/2015
LETTER: Taking down flag was right; now what?
Updated: July 14, 2015 - 12:18 pm

I’ve been paying close attention to the controversy surrounding the confederate flag and I’d like to weigh-in on the situation.

LETTER: Parents should teach respect at home
Updated: July 14, 2015 - 12:18 pm

I’ve gone to schools on several occasions, giving talks on several educational subjects. I couldn’t help but notice the diversity within the classrooms, and, for a brief moment in my mind, went back to my childhood days in schools when the schools were either black or white.

LETTER: Statesville needs July 4 fireworks display
Updated: July 14, 2015 - 12:19 pm

I cannot believe that a city of our population of Statesville cannot have a decent fireworks display.

Monday 07/13/2015
LETTER: Union spread own truth about war
Posted: July 13, 2015

For over 150 years there has been a tremendous lie spread around the world about secession and the Civil War.

LETTER: Absolute truth should trump feelings
Posted: July 13, 2015

The saying is that you can educate ignorance but not stupidity. We mark our living today as postmodern meaning that everyone has his own truth. If we accept this premise, then why spend public money on education? The idea is that we all have the truth, so why not burn the textbooks? Everybody has got it right. Is this not good news? Even this letter is stating a point of view, believe it or not. So what has changed? It was said three centuries ago that one of the wonders of the world is when two persons agree. We know that disagreement can produce death and destruction.

LETTER: Removal of flag should be embraced
Posted: July 13, 2015

Friday was an historic day, not just for South Carolina, but also for the nation. Friday’s action by the South Carolina legislature and Governor Nikki R. Haley recognized symbols that once stood for courage and bravery could be transformed into symbols of hate and terror. Allowing those symbols to be displayed on public lands was just plain wrong. Individuals have the right to express themselves as they see fit, but the government and public areas must be held to a different standard. We cannot use public lands and property to exhibit symbols that denigrate segments of our population.

Thursday 07/09/2015
LETTER: South lost the war, why hang the flag?
Posted: July 09, 2015

I am confused as to why the people of the south hang all of their pride and heritage on this "enemy" flag. We, as the USA, were at war with the people who used that flag in battle against us, and we won that war. The South surrendered and returned to the USA. I am 1/4 German, and I am very proud of it, but it is not the Nazi part of my heritage I take pride in. Sure it's a part of it, the part we learn from and move on. The South lost the war, and it seems the refusal to give up that flag is showing that they refuse to accept that fact. The phrase "The south will rise again"  makes me wonder what does that mean exactly? Do they intend to try again? 

LETTER: History of Confederate flag important
Posted: July 09, 2015

I think everyone should study our history. The Civil War was not just a fight about slavery, and it certainly was not between blacks and whites. Slavery was a part of the problem, but the war was about the right of states to have some laws different from the federal laws. To this day states need to be able to have different laws because of where their state is located in our huge continent. For example: Texas bordering Mexico needs different laws about borders than North Carolina.

Thursday 07/02/2015
LETTER: Declare independence from meat
Posted: July 02, 2015

Nearly 240 years ago, our founding fathers declared our national independence from Great Britain. This 4th of July, let's declare our independence from the meat industry.

LETTER: Charleston killings a 'sin problem'
Posted: July 02, 2015

President Obama used the tragedy in Charleston to call for more gun control. The tragedy in Charleston is a sin problem, a heart problem. Jesus said in Matthew 15:19 “For out of the heart come evil thoughts, murders, adulteries, fornications, thefts, false witness, slanders.” Where do murders come from? Murders come from the heart. What are some of the other things the Word of God says about the heart? Genesis 6:5 “Then the LORD saw that the wickedness of man was great on the earth, and that every intent of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.” Jeremiah 17:9a “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked.”

Friday 06/26/2015
LETTER: Keep beer in background
Posted: June 26, 2015

Keep beer in background

Thursday 06/25/2015
LETTER: In honor of Dixie
Posted: June 25, 2015

In honor of Dixie

LETTER: A poem for Charleston
Posted: June 25, 2015

A poem for Charleston

Monday 06/22/2015
LETTER: Hyatt’s Angels thanks schools for support
Updated: June 22, 2015 - 1:55 pm

Hyatt’s Angels thanks schools for support

LETTER: Statesville police go beyond regular duties
Updated: June 22, 2015 - 1:53 pm

Statesville police go beyond regular duties

Wednesday 06/17/2015
LETTER: Continued war gives pause
Updated: June 17, 2015 - 9:14 am

As I hear the drums of war coming out of Washington, it gives me pause to think. Do we want to send more soldiers into harm’s way? We have been there a very long time under at least three different presidents. We have sacrificed our best and finest and countless billions of dollars, yet still I hear the beat of drums. If “they” are so keen on war then bring back the draft. Make it mandatory for everyone to serve who can in some capacity. Include our senators, congressmen and their families. No exemptions. All have the opportunity to serve front and center.

Wednesday 06/10/2015
LETTER: Every family deserves forgiveness
Posted: June 10, 2015

If you are a follower of Christ then this letter is for you. Do not judge your fellow man for sins committed in the past especially if they repented. Many of you across the country are acting like terrorists toward a loving family. Stop bullying these girls and their brother for something that does not involve you. What would Jesus say to you right now if he saw in the flesh the things you guys say or type about these loving people?

LETTER: Dairy farmers, cows renewed Iredell soil
Posted: June 10, 2015

The most recent “Out of Our Past” column in the Record and Landmark had two posts celebrating the opening of the Carnation Milk Plant 75 years ago. Most today know little about the persistent work done by county extension agent A.R. Marrow and others like Howard Stamey to bring dairy farming to this county. Mr. Marrow even ran a milk route in the morning before his day job.

Tuesday 06/09/2015
LETTER: Bible gives guidance on how to act around non-Christians
Updated: June 09, 2015 - 9:12 am

A recent letter encouraged Christians to find common ground with non-Christians. That is a noble goal that cannot be reached. All people share the basic human needs but that is about it. People make the choice to not believe, half believe or believe. A committed Christian is a person who believes in the creator God and believes the Holy Bible is the inspired, inerrant word of God, and the non-committed and the un-believer does not. If someone tells you that the Bible has mistakes or it really doesn’t mean what it says, that’s a big red flag.

Monday 06/08/2015
Governments, spend within your means
Updated: June 08, 2015 - 10:34 am

Why do you think the Iredell Budget had zero opposition?  It doesn’t matter. I live in Mooresville and have spoken at many budget meetings, and I was one of many in Mooresville in opposition to the purchase of the bankrupt Adelphia cable system.

Monday 06/01/2015
LETTER: Some in Troutman failed to show proper respect
Updated: June 01, 2015 - 9:33 am

Some in Troutman failed to show proper respect

LETTER: Anyone can be a good person, even an atheist
Updated: June 01, 2015 - 9:34 am

Anyone can be a good person, even an atheist

Friday 05/29/2015
LETTER: Education about Bible doesn’t equal intelligence
Updated: May 29, 2015 - 9:00 am

Education about Bible doesn’t equal intelligence

Tuesday 05/26/2015
LETTER: Being a good person isn’t total measure of Christians
Updated: May 26, 2015 - 9:14 am

Being a good person isn’t total measure of Christians

LETTER: Pregnant women in Bible not immune to God’s wrath
Updated: May 26, 2015 - 8:48 am

Pregnant women in Bible not immune to God’s wrath

LETTER: Many citizens depend on ICATS bus service
Updated: May 26, 2015 - 8:46 am

Many citizens depend on ICATS bus service

Wednesday 05/20/2015
LETTER: Mac Herring, Frank Rader will be greatly missed
Updated: May 21, 2015 - 2:19 pm

Mac Herring, Frank Rader will be greatly missed

Tuesday 05/19/2015
LETTER: President Obama’s statements are against Christian values
Updated: May 21, 2015 - 2:44 pm

President Obama’s statements are against Christian values

LETTER: Parents apologize for incorrect information on SMS bullying
Updated: May 21, 2015 - 2:43 pm

Parents apologize for incorrect information on SMS bullying

LETTER: Cal Thomas tries to dictate what everyone should think
Updated: May 21, 2015 - 2:44 pm

Cal Thomas tries to dictate what everyone should think

Monday 05/18/2015
LETTER: Troutman resident proud of ‘In God We Trust’ motto
Updated: May 26, 2015 - 9:13 am

Troutman resident proud of ‘In God We Trust’ motto

Sunday 05/10/2015
LETTER: Bible’s passages not always guide to how we should act
Updated: May 11, 2015 - 10:08 am

Bible’s passages not always guide to how we should act

Saturday 05/09/2015
LETTER: Veterans organizations need new members to survive
Updated: May 11, 2015 - 9:24 am

Veterans organizations need new members to survive

Friday 05/08/2015
LETTER: Churches should discipline members who don’t repent
Posted: May 08, 2015

Churches should discipline members who don’t repent

Thursday 05/07/2015
LETTER: Senior Games organizers put in countless hours
Updated: May 07, 2015 - 4:04 pm

Senior Games organizers put in countless hours

LETTER: Sunday school teachers needed to explain more
Updated: May 07, 2015 - 4:03 pm

Sunday school teachers needed to explain more

Wednesday 05/06/2015
LETTER: Judgments disrespectful to local churchgoers
Updated: May 06, 2015 - 9:45 am

Judgments disrespectful to local churchgoers

LETTER: Complaints about trucks ignore the bigger picture
Updated: May 06, 2015 - 9:45 am

Complaints about trucks ignore the bigger picture

Online Question

Loading…