Lake Norman High School

A break in the rain Saturday allowed the nearly 500 members of Lake Norman High School’s class of 2019 as well as a stadium full of family and friends to be outside for their graduation ceremony.


Nearly half of the class graduated with honors. Seventy-seven graduated cum laude (weighted GPA 3.7-3.99), 126 graduated mag na cum laude (weighted GPA 4.0-4.49) and 17 graduated summa cum laude (weighted GPA 4.5+). Most of the graduates will be attending college in the fall, with the majority attending North Carolina universities such as UNC-Charlotte, Appalachian State University, UNC-Wilmington, NC State and UNC-Chapel Hill.

Nathan Dugan will be joining the Ivy League. Dugan will be attending Princeton University as a member of their wrestling team. There is also a student who was awarded the Park Scholarship, which includes a four-year scholarship to N.C. State University. Another student was awarded the Morehead-Cain Scholarship, which includes the same to UNC-Chapel Hill.


Nina Christensen and Grace Krohn encouraged the graduates to enjoy their time now before worrying too much about what tomorrow may bring.

"All of us will begin a new season," Christensen said. "Class of 2019, embrace all that is that dawns this season. Because like high school, we will only get to live this season once.”

Krohn added a humorous quip about the frequent traffic jams on Highway 150.

“Unless you were lucky enough to have an older sibling who knew about the turnaround shortcut, most of us sat on the bus for 45 minutes as we slowly traveled 200 feet on the left lane of 150 as we turned onto Doolie,” Krohn said.


The graduates were ushered into Lake Norman’s football stadium by a team of Junior Marshals. In order to have been selected as a Junior Marshal, a student must be ranked in the top 10 percent of their class. The Junior Marshalls included: Briana Abreu, Chief, Olivia Aldridge, Stephen Arensberg, Cameron Arnold, Helena Bardsley, Sean Bowen , Jaden Cehelsky, Kerri Coffman, Jennifer DeLustro, Julia Dow, Kannon Frady, Maxwell Glover, Haley Gonzalez, Alexandria Grant, Morgan Hand, Aaron Johnson, Alyssa Kessler, Zachary Ladowski, Chloe Lind, Sarah Lorenzi, Preston Mason, Anish Nashine, Olivia Poremba, Garrett Rogers, David Rogers, Austin Rongo, Heather Smith, Jacob Smithy, Kaleigh Stolberg, Haley Stoup, Lauren Sullivan, Mackenzie Taylor, George Wasson, Abigail Watson, Weston Weddington, and Madeline Whitt

Senior Class President Preston Aley welcomed the graduates, their families, faculty members and honored guests to the ceremony.

“Welcome to the graduation ceremony for the class of 2019,” Aley said.” Before we begin, I would like to acknowledge our distinguished guests on stage: Mr. Brady Johnson, superintendent of Iredell-Statesville Schools, Mr. Martin Page,

Chairman of the Iredell-Statesville Schools Board of Education, and Mr. Todd Carver, an Iredell-Statesville School Board member representing District Seven.”

Boy Scout Troop 171 of Williamson’s Chapel UMC then presented the colors, and the chorus sang the alma mater and “High Hopes”.

Before presenting the diplomas, Lake Norman High School Principal Keith Gentle made sure to recognize the graduates who were not able to attend Saturday’s ceremony.

“I would also like to take a moment and acknowledge the folks that are unable to be with us this morning, so take a brief moment, and let’s honor the folks who could not make it today,” Gentle said.

After the presentation of diplomas, the ceremony concluded with the declaration of the graduates and a recessional, “Rondeau from Premiere Suite” performed by the Lake Norman High School Wind Ensemble.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please keep it clean, turn off CAPS LOCK and don't threaten anyone. Be truthful, nice and proactive. And share with us - we love to hear eyewitness accounts.