Generic voting ballot

Additional candidates have joined the race for the Wards 1 and 4 seats in Statesville.

Chris Lamberth filed for Statesville Ward 1 on Wednesday. On Tuesday, Kyle Houston filed to join Julius Hoke and James Pressly in a bid to represent Ward 4. Also on Tuesday, Scottie Harris filed for the Town of Harmony Town Council.

On Monday, Mooresville Graded School District Chairman Roger Hyatt filed for one of the three seats on the board, joining incumbents Debbie Marsh and Kerry Pennell in seeking re-election. Marsh and Pennell filed Friday, the opening day of filing for the Nov. 5 election.

Commissioner Thurman Houston also filled out his paperwork on Monday and seeks to retain his Ward 2 seat on the board, joining Mooresville Mayor Miles Atkins and Commissioners Bobby Compton and Eddie Dingler in campaigning for re-election. The seats up for grabs in Mooresville are Wards 1 and 2 and Commissioner-At-Large. Dingler represents Ward 1 while Compton is the Commissioner-At-Large.

Those who have filed since the opening day Friday are:


» Matthew Robert Weber

Love Valley

» Victoria Allison Barker


» Tammy Beckham Wyatt, Ward 1

» Mark William Kleinhenz, Ward 1

» Christopher Darryl Lamberth, Ward 1

» James Hendrick Pressly, Ward 4

» Julius Alexander Hoke, Ward 4

» Kyle Lang Houston , Ward 4

» Frederick Foster, Ward 6

» James Thomas Neal, Ward 6

The filing period ends at noon on July 19.

The seats up for election this fall and those currently holding those seats are:

Town of Mooresville – Mayor, Wards 1 and 2 and Commissioner-At-Large seat


Mayor – Miles Atkins

Ward 1 – Eddie Dingler

Ward 2 – Thurman Houston

Commissioner-At-Large – Bobby Compton

Mooresville Graded School District Board – three seats


Roger E. Hyatt

Deborah Ford Marsh

Kerry S. Pennell

Town of Troutman – Mayor and two council seats


Mayor – Teross Young

Judith Jabolnski

Janith Huffman

Town of Davidson – Mayor and five commissioner seats


Mayor – Russell B. Knox


Jim Fuller

Jane Campbell

Matthew Fort

Autumn Rierson Michael

David E. Sitton

City of Statesville – Wards 1, 4 and 6


Ward 1 – Roy C. West Jr.

Ward 4 – Michael Johnson

Ward 6 – Keith Williams

Town of Harmony – Mayor and four council seats


Mayor- Lee Matney


John Ray Campbell

Julia Reid Clanton

Douglas Galliher

Michael Scott Harris

Town of Love Valley – Mayor and five commissioner seats


Mayor – Anthony Kennedy


Victoria Barker

Teddy Eugene Davis

Joanne Henson

Glenn Dennis Turk

Timothy Lee Ward

Election date for the City of Statesville is Oct. 8 with a runoff, if necessary, on Nov. 5.

Mooresville’s primary, if necessary, is Oct. 5 with the election on Nov. 5.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please keep it clean, turn off CAPS LOCK and don't threaten anyone. Be truthful, nice and proactive. And share with us - we love to hear eyewitness accounts.