Voting generic

Tight contests marked all of the Statesville City Council races. No incumbents ran for reelection this year and all three races were runoffs after a close election on Oct. 8.

In Ward 1, David L. Jones had 51.01 percent of the vote to Tim Dearman’s 48.99 with the two precincts reporting, according to unofficial results on the North Carolina Board of Elections site. Jones had also led after the Oct. 8 voting.

In Ward 4, Amy Lawton, who called for a runoff after the Oct. 8 election, edged James H. Pressly with 51.05 percent of the vote on Tuesday night.

In Ward 6, Frederick Foster had also called for a runoff after trailing David Jackson in the Oct. 8 election. He has 50.91 percent of the unofficial vote in a race separated by just four votes on Tuesday night.

A total of 24 votes separated the two candidates in each of those races.

They will join Statesville City Council members William P. Morgan Jr., Steve Johnson, C.O. Johnson, Doris Allison and John Staford. Roy West Jr., Michael Johnson and Keith Williams opted not to run for reelection.

In the Town of Harmony, Mayor Lee Matney ran unopposed, but there was one vote for a write-in candidate. The Board of Aldermen candidates also all ran unopposed. N. Sankey (Buddy) Gaither (26.29 percent), Scotty Harris (25.71 percent), Douglas Galliher (25.14 percent) and Julia Clanton (22.29 percent) will all take office.

In Troutman, incumbent Mayor Teross Young ran unopposed and he won re-election with 315 or 94% of the vote. There were 20 write-in candidates.

In the race for two seats on the Troutman Town Council, newcomers George W. Harris and Eddie Nau were elected. Harris received 123 votes or 31 percent while Nau received 131 or 19 percent. Incumbent Jan Huffman finished in fourth place with 113 or 16.5 percent. Matt Weber received 118 votes or 17 percent while Jeremy Shaw finished with 108 votes or 15.7 percent.

In Davidson, Mayor Russell B. Knox Jr. ran unopposed with 96.88 percent of the vote after one write-in in opposition. For the Board of Commissioners, Jane Campbell (23.02 percent), David Sitton (17.27 percent), Jim Fuller (15.11 percent), Matthew Fort (14.39 percent) and Autumn Rierson Michael (14.39 percent) won the five seats. John Stroup (8.63 percent) and Steve Cook (6.47 percent) were also candidates in the race.

A total of 5,347 out of a possible 42,912 ballots were cast in the election, a turnout of 12.46 percent. In the Oct. 8 election, 5.69 percent of possible ballots were cast. In a similar election in 2015, 2,504 ballots of 8.54 percent of those eligible voted.

No results are official until a canvass is completed.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please keep it clean, turn off CAPS LOCK and don't threaten anyone. Be truthful, nice and proactive. And share with us - we love to hear eyewitness accounts.