Generic voting ballot

Five more candidates have filed for election, and all but two are incumbents.

David Jose’ Jackson filed to seek one of the three seats on Statesville City Council.

George Wright Harris is seeking one of the two seats on the Troutman Town Council. Matthew Robert Weber has also filed for a seat on the Troutman board as has incumbent Janith Huffman Jones.

Current Council member Judy Jablonski has not yet filed for re-election.

Incumbent Mayor Teross Young Jr. filed to seek re-election.

Current Harmony Mayor Daniel Lee Matney filed to seek re-election as did town board member Julia Reid Clanton.

In addition to the mayor, there are four seats open in Harmony this fall. Other current office holders are John Ray Campbell, Douglas Galliher and Scottie Harris. Harris and Galliher have filed for re-election.

Up for election this fall are seats in Wards 1 and 2 in Mooresville as well as the Commissioner-At-Large seat and mayor.

With filing closing set for Friday at noon, thus far, the incumbents for all four spots have filed for re-election.

Mayor Miles Atkins, Ward I Commissioner Eddie Dingler, Ward 2’s Thurman Houston and Commissioner-At-Large Bobby Compton are all seeking re-election.

The opposite is the case for Statesville. Thus far, none of the incumbents have filed for the three seats on the Statesville City Council.

There are three people who have filed for Ward 1 – Tammy Beckham Wyatt, Mark William Kleinheinz and Christopher Darryl Lamberth. Ward 1 is currently represented by Roy C. West Jr.

There are four candidates for the Ward 4 seat. James Hendrick Pressly, Julius Alexander Hoke, Kyle Lang Houston and Amy Frederick all filed for the Ward 4 seat currently held by Michael Johnson.

It’s a three-man race thus far for Ward 6 – a seat currently held by Keith Williams.

Jackson is joined by Frederick Fleamon and James Thomas Neal in seeking to represent Ward 6.

In the race for the five seats on the Love Valley board, only one candidate has filed.

Victoria Barker, an incumbent, has filed for re-election. Up for election this fall are also seats held by Teddy Eugene Davis, Joanne Henson, Glenn Dennis Turk and Timothy Lee Ward. The mayor’s seat, held by Anthony Kennedy, is also on the ballot.

There are also three seats open on the Mooresville Graded School District Board of Education in the fall election.

Incumbents Roger Hyatt, Deborah Ford Marsh and Kerry Pennell all have filed for re-election as has challenger Scarlett Melanie Overbay-Inman.

The elections for the City of Statesville are Oct. 8 with a runoff, if necessary, on Nov. 5.

All other races will be determined on Nov. 5.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please keep it clean, turn off CAPS LOCK and don't threaten anyone. Be truthful, nice and proactive. And share with us - we love to hear eyewitness accounts.