The Statesville City Council meets twice a month at City Hall. 

Three Statesville City Council members will step down, and the newly elected members will take their seats Monday.

Michael Johnson, Keith Williams and Roy West did not run for re-election this year. Johnson served on the council for 16 years. Williams served for five years, and West served for eight.

Judge Joe Crosswhite will swear in Amy Lawton, Frederick Foster and David Jones, all of whom won contentious elections earlier this year.

The new council members will be part of a discussion about possible parking options for the Civic Center behind the Vance Hotel that was tabled until Monday at a previous meeting.

That discussion will include the approved parking deck behind the hotel.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please keep it clean, turn off CAPS LOCK and don't threaten anyone. Be truthful, nice and proactive. And share with us - we love to hear eyewitness accounts.